Peter Sarkisian – Neo Folk Art?

Peter Sarkisian – Neo Folk Art?

American artist Peter Sarkisian, uses sculpture and video projection in a bid to turn how we have been trained to watch video imagery through television, into an experience of self awareness, where we are no longer solely watching, but actively consider the experience.

He’s most recent body of work, VideoMorphic sees intricate and high contrasting hues projected onto 3-D printed sculptures. Its seems quite perverse. Its so unusual because in one instance I can understand it, I know its a 3-D surface with a projection on it, but once the projection begins it takes on a whole new level, I cannot join the plain colour surface, with the surface during projection with all its apparent moving elements. I guess this is Peter Sarkisians intention. I became aware of what I understand, but feel what I understand is not accurately assisting me in processing the new experience.

Could this be considered a type of new folk art? I will have to think about that…

I also like the work below, Pounding Study from 2004, Its worth watching the video.

 

236474993_780x439
Peter Sarkisian: Pounding Study, 2004
Leave a Reply

